• Have a read of my book! Launched 2 February 2012 Now on Kindle!

  • Click this picture for 10 brilliant Amazon book reviews of my book from around the world. Enjoy!

  • barbs@trisurvivor.nz

    barbs@@trisurvivor.nz

  • Big Island Hawaii Podcast

Compromising Gym with Arthritis

Being told to take “baby steps” at the gym by my Personal Trainer and friends has to be one of the hardest challenges I am facing lately.  When I feel good I just want to take the exercises by the ‘scruff of the neck’ and just have a blast.  However on the occasions I have done this arthritis has turned round and bit me and has had the last laugh.  This then meant 3 – 4 weeks of babysitting my body back to some normality again.  Which I have focused on for the past four weeks.

Last week I achieved three days at the gym taking things very easy with my rehab workouts.  The reward of being sensible (lol when it comes to exercise is usually non-existent) through these three workouts is being able to look forward to going to the gym this week.  I am planning to go Monday, Wednesday and Friday all going well 🙂

I have to say it is a continual battle with my arthritis and refuse to let it beat me. I dream of all the treatments to indulge oneself in at a Day Spa and just add this to my Dream List which there are many lol. Gone are the days of popping a couple of pills to keep my arthritis at bay and carry on a normal life of work and weekends.  It is now living in hope of finding that magic tonic which alleviates my pain and pray one day my kidneys are back to normal healed from the nasty chemo that blasted them every three weeks for 6 cycles of that nasty stuff.

Having long sunny warm days at the moment is sheer bliss and I think I will go outside and enjoy it lazing in the sun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

