• Have a read of my book! Launched 2 February 2012 Now on Kindle!

  • Click this picture for 10 brilliant Amazon book reviews of my book from around the world. Enjoy!

  • barbs@trisurvivor.nz

    barbs@@trisurvivor.nz

  • Big Island Hawaii Podcast

ITU World Triathlon Volunteer update

I left for Auckland on Monday to stay the night at my friend Anna’s place in Auckland and to then visit friends on the Tuesday to finally get a training/recap of our roles as Volunteers for the upcoming World Triathlon Champs 🙂  I decided to take a few photos of the towns and places I passed through on my way up to Auckland here are some of the sights before I tell about the adventure I had on Tuesday lol

Huntly Power Station

Huntly Power Station

Rangiriri Hotel

Rangiriri Hotel

Pokeno Village

Pokeno Village

The Infamous Pokeno Bacon Shop - Pokeno

The Infamous Pokeno Bacon Shop – Pokeno

It was so cool seeing Anna and her family again and the next morning I said my farewells and my adventure began!  My first stop was Whangaparaoa Hospice to see my good friend Lauren Roche and catch up on the past few months.  Well I decided to try the GPS unit from my mobile to find it as I had not been there before.

Getting on the Motorway in Auckland

Getting on the Motorway in Auckland

The traffic on the motorway wasn’t bad even though it looked clogged up – it was going at a good pace.  From there it was over the Harbour Bridge and then the exit for Whangaparaoa.  This is where I got misguided by my GPS unit.  Before I knew it I was approaching the Toll Road Service Centre to fill up with petrol and pay the Toll Road fees to go through the tunnel.

Approaching the Tunnel on S.H.1

Approaching the Tunnel on S.H.1

Approaching the tunnel it reminded me of all the trips around Europe and bought back all sorts of memories lol.  After a while I kept thinking I have gone to far north and seeing the exit for Mahurangi Reserve, I decided to pull over and ring Lauren because it felt all wrong.

Driving through the tunnel

Driving through the tunnel

This new motorway had no signs to Whangaparaoa which to me made no sense as it is a huge Peninsula off to the East north of Auckland.  Lauren did a little giggle and said “yeah, ya gone too far, come back and take the Orewa/Silverdale exit and then you will know where you are on the old State Highway 1”.  Sure enough as soon as I got on the old road I knew I had seriously gone way to far lol

After a catch up with Lauren and another friend called Greg on the Whangaparaoa Peninsula I headed back to Auckland for my training and then home.  I am very excited about the World Triathlon Champs, the Brownlee Brothers will be there, and over 3,000 Age Groupers – it will be just massive and lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

