• Have a read of my book! Launched 2 February 2012 Now on Kindle!

  • Click this picture for 10 brilliant Amazon book reviews of my book from around the world. Enjoy!

  • barbs@trisurvivor.nz

    barbs@@trisurvivor.nz

  • Big Island Hawaii Podcast

Volunteering at ITU World Triathlon Champs

What an event! I had the most amazing, tiring (early starts lol), inspiring and incredible experience volunteering and meeting new people at this event!  Over 3,000 Age Groupers raced on Monday which was a record amount registered.  I started registering on Friday from 7.30am to 7pm then 8.30 Saturday to 1pm and again on Sunday 8.30am to 1pm.  It was just so much fun!  I will let the below photos say it all :

Registration

Registration

Elite Woman Swim

Elite Woman Swim

Elite Womens run

Elite Womens run

3000 Age Groupers Bike Transition

3000 Age Groupers Bike Transition

Age Group Start

Age Group Start

Age Group swim start

Age Group swim start

Me & Andrea Hewitt

Me & Andrea Hewitt

James Cook & Liz in at the Thames War Memorial

James Cook & Liz in at the Thames War Memorial

The most exciting part of this event was meeting James Cook and his fiancée Liz Pharo from Canada.  James qualified to be in this event months ago and we first met via Twitter and became email friends and we finally met each other at this event.  James did really well on a very tough course as well as the worst weather to ever do a triathlon in.

Liz & James at the Cathedral Cove Lookout, Hahei

Liz & James at the Cathedral Cove Lookout, Hahei

We all became fast friends and on Tuesday I picked James and Liz up from their hotel and took them on tour to the Coromandel Peninsula, staying the night in my beach house and then taking them down to their friends at Mt Maunganui to pick up some camping gear for their next big adventure touring the South Island.

James walking through Cathedral Cove, Hahei

James walking through Cathedral Cove, Hahei

I had so much fun showing them the Coromandel Peninsula!  On the Tuesday morning at my beach house, James noticed a school of Dolphins, James & Liz rushed down to the beach to watch them swim by (sorry I have no photo as it happened so fast) – Another highlight was walking (hobbling & assisted by James) to Cathedral Cover in Hahei.

James and I at Cathedral Cove

James and I at Cathedral Cove

Now this walk down to Cathedral Cove is a great test of your cardiovascular system.  I had grave doubts about my ability to achieve this being in a fair amount of pain.  It had been something like 15 years since I last did this walk and it had changed a lot but no easier.  It was a blistering hot day and by the time we reached the beach (45m – 1 hour later due to my very slow hobbling and thankfully assisted by James & Liz) the first thing James did was have a swim.

James being 'Gollum' Cathedral Cove, Hahei

James being ‘Gollum’ Cathedral Cove, Hahei

I should have dunked myself in the beautiful blue water as well, as by the time we would have got to the car I would have been almost dry.  Anyhow it was just a fabulous excursion.

Our next stop on the way to our final destination to Mt Maunganui of this wonderful day was Pauanui.  James and Liz had a friend named Jess ML who needed a ride back to Auckland who was flying back home to Canada in a few days time.  With some very clever arrangement and packing James managed to get Jess’s bags into my small 3 door Toyota Rav4 and the four of us were soon zoom, zoom, zooming down to Mt Maunganui staying the night with Liz’s relations.  On the way home we stopped at Paeroa for a photo of the Lemon & Paeroa bottle World Famous in New Zealalnd 🙂

From Left: Jess, James & Liz

From Left: Jess, James & Liz

With much sadness I said farewell to James, Liz and Jess in Auckland the next day.

Liz, Jess & James in my little Rav4

Liz, Jess & James in my little Rav4

One Response

  1. Fantastic pics and so great to hear about the adventures James & Liz are having.

Leave a Reply

